Second Time Around

Donate what you don’t need – and help local families live just a little better.

Donate your unused clothing and household items. Much of the clothing and housewares we provide to families in need are donated by community members like you.

Donating is easy: Every Monday we make donation pickups in local neighborhoods as part of our Second Time Around program. All you need to do is bag/box your donations and set them outside by 8 a.m. on your pickup day.

  • December:

    Monday, December 3:
    North & South of Pratt
    Monday, December 10:
    Peterson Park & Lincolnwood
    Monday, December 17:
    Skokie & Evanston

    January:

    Monday, January 7:
    North of Pratt
    Monday, January 14:
    South of Pratt
    Monday, January 28:
    Peterson Park, Lincolnwood, Skokie & Evanston

  • February:

    Monday, February 4:
    North of Pratt
    Monday, February 11:
    South of Pratt
    Monday, February 18:
    Peterson Park & Lincolnwood
    Monday, February 25:
    Skokie & Evanston

Drop-off hours:

Pull up to the driveway on Ridgeway and ring the bell at the door. Place donations inside the garage.
Monday – Thursday: 9 am – 4:30 pm
Friday: 9 am – 12 pm
Sunday: 10:30 am – 2:30 pm
After Hours: Donations in bags can be placed in the after-hours drop box in the parking lot on the north side of our building. Please do not leave donations outside the bins.

Items we’ll accept for this program:

  • Clothing in all sizes and for all seasons, for men, women and children
  • Shoes and accessories, including sandals and flip flops
  • Toys and games
  • Books
  • School and camp supplies, including towels and toiletries
  • Sports equipment
  • Housewares

Things we don’t accept in the bins:

  • Shaimos
  • Perishable food

To participate, email secondtimearound@chicagochesedfund.org with your name, address and phone number by Friday noon before your pickup day.